My Wife: The NEEDED and Better half

I have come to the conclusion that if you are pursuing Youth Ministry, or any other ministry for that matter, you need to have a cheering section that upholds you and supports you along the way.  Dont know what I mean?  No Clue?  Let me fill you in…

When I started this road of Vocational Ministry just 10 months ago I thought honestly that all the pressure and expectations were going to need to be met by me, myself and I.  I mean, I looked at this uphill journey and thought to myself, “Not only can I not climb this mountain, but how am I supposed to get to the top with 100 pounds of crap on my back?!”  That’s the way Ministry looks, a lot of the time.  You are constantly dealing with things, never-ending things (Which by the way will very quickly push you away from Ministry if you aren’t in it for the right reason).  If you don’t have the support system you NEED in vocational Ministry you will quickly burn out and smolder to the ground.

Hasn’t happened yet?  Dont think it will?  Just wait…

I have learned over the past 10 months a ton of things.  I have learned things I could do better, things I did pretty well, things I totally bombed, the list goes on.  The one thing I have learned though that I never imagined I would have learned this quickly is the value of my beautiful wife, Laura.  This is not a time of me brown-nosing my wife, I did that already (Hence why she is my wife…).  Laura is as MUCH the Student Pastor here as I am.  She steps in and takes care of so much, especially with our girl students, and she does it with such enthusiasm!  She WANTS to do it…

It has just been the past couple of months that I have really realized how valuable my amazing wife it to my Ministry… excuse me… OUR Ministry.  I could not be doing this without her.

So what can you take out of this post?  I think it is pretty straight forward… Ministry can’t be a one man game, it’s a one man one woman game.  If you are starting out in Ministry or have been in it for 20+ years, your wife is valuable to you.  You could not be doing this on your own.  I could not be doing this on my own.

Whether or not you are in Ministry soon to be getting married, married soon to be heading to Ministry, or doing both those things at exactly the same time… Make sure your wife is on board.  Make sure your wife wants to be by your side as you stand up Ministering to a bunch of Students.  Make sure your wife has as much of a call to pursue the Ministry as you do.

Ministry is a Mountain with a 100 pound pack on your back… make sure your climbing partner there with you… sharing the Load.

Now excuse me… I have some flowers to go buy.

~ by bradgust on April 14, 2010.

Leave a comment